Lindström’s City Government is comprised of an elected City Council, elected Mayor, appointed Commissioners, and is structured as a statutory city.  Most Minnesota cities are incorporated as a statutory city.  The Legislature has proved three “plans” or forms of organization for statutory cities:  the Standard Plan, Optional Plan A, and Optional Plan B. 

Lindström is structured utilizing Optional Plan A, which is a modification of the Standard Plan.  It retains the weak mayor-council characteristics, but provides for an appointed clerk, an appointed treasurer (or a combined clerk-treasurer), a mayor, and four or six council members.   

A more in-depth explanation of these structures can be found on the League of Minnesota Cities website: